Call for Nominations for the 2001 Boltzmann Award

Dear Colleagues:

By this letter I want to draw your attention to the Boltzmann Award which is presented by the C3 commission on Statistical Physics of IUPAP every three years at the Statphys Conference. The next award will thus be given in Cancun, Mexico, in July 2001.

The award, consisting of a gold metal, honours outstanding achievements in statistical physics. The recipient should be a scientist not duly honoured before.

The winner of the award is chosen by a selection committee, consisting of the members of the C3 Commission (M. Barma, K. Binder, M. E. Cates, J. T. Chayes, B. Derrida, V. S. Dotsenko, A. Erzan, C. K. Hu, K. Kitahara, Ph. A. Martin, M. Rasetti, T. Tel, C. Tsallis), the Chairman of the previous Commission (P. C. Hohenberg), the Organizer of the Statphys Conference (A. Robledo), and last but not least the previous award winners (K. G. Wilson, R. J. Baxter, M. E. Fisher, D. Ruelle, Y. Sinai, L. P. Kadanoff, J. L. Lebowitz, G. Parisi, S. F. Edwards, E. H. Lieb, and B. Widom). Members of the selection committee are not eligible for the award, of course.

Nominations for the award should be sent to me before July 1st, 2000. The nominations must be accompanied by a description of the work of the awardee consisting of at least one and no more than two typed pages (This should include a listing of no more than half a dozen key publications by the nominee). Nominations for a joint award to two scientists, preferably for related work, are acceptable.

We would appreciate if you could inform other members of the statistical physics community of this nomination process since we want to be certain to consider the best possible nominees.

With best regards,

Kurt Binder Institut für Physik Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz 55099 Mainz, Staudinger Weg 7 Germany (FAX: +49-6131-392-5441)